Christmas Opening Hours

Monday 23rd December – 9am until 5pm

Tuesday 24th December – 9am until 1pm

Wednesday 25th December – Closed

Thursday 26th December – Closed

Friday 27th December – 9am until 5pm

Saturday 28th December – Closed

Sunday 29th December – Closed

Monday 30th December – 9am until 5pm

Tuesday 31st December – 9am until 1pm

Wednesday 1st January – Closed

Thursday 2nd January – 9am until 5pm

Friday 3rd January – 9am until 5pm

Saturday 4th January – 9am until 1pm

Sunday 5th January – Closed

Monday 6th January – Normal service resumes

Every month, typically 14 days after the beginning of a woman’s period, one ovary should release one egg – but of course, it doesn’t always happen like it ‘should’. In up to a third of women who haven’t conceived after a year of trying, the ovary may not be releasing an egg consistently, meaning there is nothing for the sperm to fertilise. This failure to ovulate may show itself through absent or irregular periods, and it may be down to a number of reasons – most commonly, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (P.C.O.S.).

Ovulation Induction (OI) treatment is therefore exactly what it says it is – using simple fertility drugs, we can help stimulate your ovulation. Initially, you’ll take Clomifene (Clomid) or Letrozole (Femara) tablets for five days between day 2 and 6 of your cycle – these help ovulation by stopping the effects of oestrogen on the brain, which in turn encourages it to release the body’s ‘egg (follicle) stimulating’ hormone – FSH. After the tablet course has finished, we will follow up with ultrasound ‘follicle tracking’ scans, as well as blood and urine tests as required from day 8 or 9 of your cycle. As soon as we know the ovaries are responding to the drug and producing an egg, we’ll advise either timed intercourse or Intrauterine Insemination (IUI).

If there is no response to either Clomifene or Letrozole, we will discuss using more powerful injectable fertility drugs called gonadotrophins, which you will inject daily for about 10 to 12 days each month (but can be longer).